Industrial-Organizational Psychologists

SOC Code: 19-3032

Job Description

Psychologists are concerned with the application and teaching of principles of learning, motivation, perception, thinking, and emotional relationships as applied in a variety of psychological techniques.


1.  Must be at least 21 years of age.
2.  Be of good moral character.
3.  Be a Wyoming resident or able to show intent of residency.
4.  Complete a program encompassing 2,000 hours which includes a practicum or internship, or field or laboratory training appropriate for the practice of psychology.
5.  Pass the examination in professional practice of psychology (EPPP).


Conviction of a felony or any crime involving moral turpitude.
Fraud or deceit in application.
Use of drugs or alcohol to an extent that affects competency.

School Located in Wyoming
University of Wyoming - Laramie 
     Department of Psychology

Psychologists must be licensed by the State Board of Psychology.


The examination is provided by the Professional Examination Service (computerized).

Application $275.00
Initial License Fee $225.00
Examination $450.00
Annual Renewal $300.00

All rules, fees, and application materials available at: 

Licensing Agency

Debra Bridges, Occupational Licensing Administrator
Board of Psychology
1800 Carey Avenue, 4th Floor
Cheyenne, Wyoming  82002
Phone: (307) 777-6529

Additional Sources of Information
National Mental Health Association
1021 Prince Street
Alexandria, Virginia  22314-2971

American Psychological Association
1200 17th Street, NW
Washington, DC  20036

National Association of Student Psychologists
P.O. Box 557
Southfield, Michigan  48037

Professional Examination Service
475 Riverside Drive
New York, New York  10115
Phone: (212) 870-3140

American Counseling Association
5999 Stevenson Avenue
Alexandria, Virginia  22304

Occupational Outlook Handbook:

Last Updated June 2008

Table of Contents | Research & Planning | Wyoming at Work | Send Us Mail