Guides, Professional

SOC Code: 39-6021

Entry Salary
$ 7.32/hr
Average Salary

Job Description
Professional Guides are employed by, or under contract with, a licensed outfitter to furnish personal services for the conduct of outdoor recreational activities associated with hunting big game.

1.  At least 18 years of age.
2.  Employed or under contract with a licensed outfitter.

Conviction of a felony.
Fraud or substantial misrepresentation in obtaining a license or advertising.
Violation of any significant Federal or State law or related regulations pertaining to wildlife, game, and fish.
Unethical or dishonorable conduct.

School Located in Wyoming
Several outfitters now offer guide school. Contact the Board for further information.

Professional Guides are licensed by the State Board of Outfitters and Professional Guides.

Examinations for new applicants are given by the outfitter.
New applicant $  25.00
License (one year) $145.00
License (14 consecutive days) $  70.00

Licensing Agency
Jane E. Flagg, Administrator
Wyoming State Board of Outfitters and Professional Guides
1950 Bluegrass Circle, Suite 280
Cheyenne, Wyoming  82002
Phone : (307) 635-1589 or (800) 264-0981
Fax : (307) 777-6715 

Additional Sources of Information
Occupational Outlook Handbook:
"Fishers, Hunters, and Trappers"

Wages Last Updated April 2008

Table of Contents | Research & Planning | Wyoming at Work | Send Us Mail