SOC Code: 39-4011

Entry Salary
$ 8.93/hr
Average Salary

Job Description
Embalmers prepare bodies for interment in conformity with legal requirements.

        1.  Must have a high school diploma or equivalent.
        2.  Must have one year (26 Hours) of college.
        3.  Must have one year (12 Months) at an accredited school of mortuary science.
        4.  Must have one year apprenticeship in Wyoming with a licensed embalmer.
        5.  Pass the National Board examination.
        6.  Pass an examination on State laws, rules and regulations.

Conviction of a felony or misdemeanor involving moral turpitude.
Alcohol or drug use affecting job competency.
Fraudulent statement in obtaining license.

School Located in Wyoming
There are no Mortuary Science schools located in Wyoming; however, Wyoming residents are eligible to study out of state at in-state rates through the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) program. For more information about WICHE contact:
        Nancy Smueles, WICHE Certifying Officer
        University of Wyoming Box 3432
        Laramie, Wyoming  82071
        Phone: (307) 766-6556

Embalmers must obtain their licenses from the State Board of Embalming.

The test is normally given during January in Cheyenne and July at a location to be announced. The test may be administered upon request, but additional fees are required.
License $250.00
Annual Renewal $125.00

Fees, applications, and other information available at: http://plboards.state.wy.us/embalmers/index.asp 

Licensing Agency
Veronica Skoranski
Wyoming State Board of Embalming
2020 Carey Avenue, Suite 201
Cheyenne, Wyoming  82002
Phone: (307) 777-7788
Fax: (307) 777-3508

Additional Sources of Information
National Selected Morticians
1616 Central Street
Evanston, Illinois  60201

Occupational Outlook Handbook:
"Funeral Directors"

Wages Last Updated June 2008

Table of Contents | Research & Planning | Wyoming at Work | Send Us Mail