Accountants, Certified Public

SOC Code: 13-2011

Entry Salary
Average Salary

Job Description
Accountants examine, analyze, and interpret accounting records for the purpose of giving advice or preparing statements for establishments and individuals. They install or advise on systems of recording costs or other financial and budgetary data, provide tax advice, and prepare tax returns.

1. To qualify to take the CPA exam:
a) complete a baccalaureate degree with 24 semester hours in accounting;
    b) complete 150 semester hours of college education to include a baccalaureate degree with 24 semester hours in upper division accounting courses and 24 semester hours in business courses.
2. To become certified:
    If one qualifies under (a) above, 4 years of experience in accounting - public accounting, government, industry, or academia qualifies
    If one qualified under (b) above, 1 year of experience.
3. Pay an annual active certificate fee.
4. Be at least 19 years old.
5. Pass a professional ethics exam.
6. Pass the CPA exam.
7. Be a Wyoming resident or regularly employed.
8. Reciprocity is available to any person who holds an active certificate (in good standing) in a state deemed to be substantially equivalent as a one tier state; any person who holds a permit-to-practice (in good standing) in a state deemed to be substantially equivalent in a two-tier state; or any person who meets Wyoming's requirements.

Conviction of a felony or any crime which is dishonest or fraudulent.
Grounds for revocation or suspension include:
        Failure to furnish evidence of completion of continuing professional education requirements.
        Cancellation, revocation, suspension, or refusal to renew the authority to practice as a Certified Public Accountant by any other state for any cause except failure to pay fees.
        Dishonesty, fraud, or gross negligence in the practice of public accounting.
        Violation of a rule of professional conduct of C.P.A. regulations.

School Located in Wyoming
University of Wyoming - Laramie 
      Department of Accounting

All individuals who practice as Certified Public Accountants must be licensed by the Wyoming Board of Certified Public Accountants.

The Uniform CPA Examination is administered by computer. See website 

Original Examination Application Fee $100.00
Re-examination $  40.00
Annual active practicing certificate    $210.00
Annual inactive certificate $105.00

Licensing Agency
Peggy Morgando, Board of CPAs
2020 Carey Avenue, Suite 701
Cheyenne, Wyoming  82002-0610
Phone: (307) 777-7551

Additional Sources of Information
American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
201 Plaza III, Harborside Financial Center
Jersey City, New Jersey  07311-3881
Phone: (201) 938-3000

National Association of Accountants
10 Paragon Drive, Box 433
Montvale, New Jersey  07645
Phone: (201) 573-9000

National Association of State Boards of Accountancy
150 4th Ave North, Suite 700
Nashville, Tennessee  37219
Phone: (615) 880-4200

American Women's Society of CPAs
500 North Michigan Avenue, Suite 1400
Chicago, Illinois  60611
Phone: (312) 661-1700

Occupational Outlook Handbook:
"Accountants and Auditors"

Wages Last Updated June 2008

Table of Contents | Research & Planning | Wyoming at Work | Send Us Mail