© Copyright 1999 by the Wyoming Department of Employment, Research & Planning

Defining Metropolitan Areas
by: David Bullard, Economist

The federal government is currently reviewing how it defines metropolitan areas. Wyoming has two metropolitan areas as defined by the Office of Management and Budget (OMB). These are the Casper Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) and the Cheyenne MSA. The Casper MSA consists of Natrona County while the Cheyenne MSA consists of Laramie County. Recently, the Metropolitan Area Standards Review Committee published a notice in the Federal Register requesting public comment on different approaches to defining metropolitan areas. Later this summer it will again seek public comment on proposed standards for metropolitan areas. Changes in the standards could affect which cities in Wyoming are designated as MSA's after the 2000 census. The Census Bureau maintains a web site with information about the work of the committee at http://www.census.gov/population/www/estimates/masrp.html.

Table of Contents | Labor Market Information | Employment Resources | Send Us Mail

These pages designed by Gayle C. Edlin.
Last modified on by Gayle C. Edlin.