Qualifying Targeted Employment Areas for Wyoming September 23, 2016

Wyoming Governor Matthew Mead has designated the Wyoming Department of Workforce Services, Research and Planning, as the agency to certify Targeted Employment Areas pursuant to the provision of the Immigration Act of 1990 and the Code of Federal Regulations, Title 8, Part 204.6.

To qualify as a Targeted Employment Area, a geographic area must either be:

1. A rural area—this is defined as any county not in a Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA). Cities with populations over 20,000 in non MSA counties are also excluded. The following counties qualify in their entireties by this definition. No cities within these counties have populations over 20,000.

Big Horn	Niobrara
Carbon	Park
Converse	Platte
Crook	Sheridan
Fremont	Sublette
Goshen	Teton
Hot Springs	Uinta
Johnson	Washakie
Lincoln	Weston

Albany, Campbell, and Sweetwater Counties contain cities with a population over 20,000. These counties qualify as rural area outside of the city limits of Laramie, Gillette, and Rock Springs.

2. A high unemployment area—this is defined as a non-rural area that has an unemployment rate 150 percent higher than the national average. Currently, the qualifying rate is 7.5%, using the Areas of Substantial Unemployment reference period July 2015 – June 2016 the national average unemployment rate was 5.0%. The following census tracts qualify using this definition –

	County	Tract	UR
County	FIPS	FIPS	UK
Campbell	005	000600	10.7
Campbell	005	000400	9.4
Laramie	021	001000	8.2

Laramie	021	000200	7.6
Natrona	025	001200	15.7
Natrona	025	001100	13.3
Natrona	025	000200	10.1
Natrona	025	001602	9.0
Natrona	025	000400	8.4
Natrona	025	00800	8.1
Natrona	025	000502	7.9
Sweetwater	037	970500	14.3
Sweetwater	037	971000	12.8
Sweetwater	037	970602	7.5

No census tracts in the city of Laramie qualify as areas of high unemployment at this time.

Prepared by: CC, Research & Planning